Gratitude, Seven Things, and Lovely Blogs

I’m finally sitting down to write my official acceptance blog. Miss Four Eyes nominated me for two awards, the “Inspiring Blog Award” and “One Lovely Blog Award.” As I said before, I am oh so very flattered by this. Miss Four Eyes is a thoughtful and funny writer and I feel proud that she enjoys reading my blog.

The last few days it finally dawned on me that I’ve become a blogger. It’s something I want to be good at instead of just something I do in my spare time. I am still exploring other blogs all the time and finding new writers to enjoy. I have so much to learn about the land of the blog. It’s exciting. The idea that even one person finds my blog “lovely” or “inspiring” means a lot to me.

Here are seven random things about me:

1. One of my favorite things in life is when I hear a song for the first time and it literally stops me in my tracks.

2. I was a DJ on KALX for about a year and it was one of the most fun things I’ve ever done. I long to get back to it. Hopefully I will someday when my kids don’t take up the majority of my time.

3. You probably wouldn’t guess it by looking at me, but I love to get manicures, pedicures and anything related to having someone help me with my grooming and hygiene. If I was extremely wealthy I would hire someone to do my hair, make up, and styling every day.

4. I had no contact with my biological father until I was 25 years old. I didn’t meet him in person until I was 31.

5. My not so secret life dream is to run my own record label. I think I’m going to do it soon.

6. I’ve met Bruce Campbell three times in my life. He is one of my favorite people on the planet. After loving him for almost two decades, he remains at the top of my list. You know, the list? Come on, we all have one.

7. I have only been outside of the United States one time in my whole life. I went to Costa Rica for my honeymoon. When my husband and I get old and kick the kids out of our house, we plan to travel all over the world.

And now onto my nominations. I want to say that all the blogs I read are inspiring to me in some way. I admire all of you bloggers who are putting yourselves out there. It takes balls! The following are blogs that I have found that have moved me, made me laugh, inspired me, have given me things to think about, and are indeed lovely. I pass on both awards to all of them.

Sword-Chinned Bitch
Keeping This Real
Running On Sober
The One Thing I Know For Sure
Boomie Bol
A Life Less Scripted
Dorothy Recovers
Boob Juice
Brian Westbye

I’m still new to blog etiquette so I really hope I didn’t miss anything here. Also, I want to say that if I didn’t include your blog in the “lovely and inspiring” category it doesn’t mean I don’t absolutely love your blog. I want to invent new blog awards for all my favorites. Ones like “Filthy and Fun” (Kyle Mew) and “Just Plain Hilarious” (Calahan). Can I do that? You tell me. You know more about this stuff than I do.

I also want to stress to the blog writers I mentioned here that I am aware that many of you have been nominated for these awards in the recent past and I do not expect you to go to all the trouble of writing another blog like this one! Just wanted to give you guys some kudos.

A big thank you to my readers. You have my deepest gratitude.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by karenlessscripted on September 20, 2012 - 3:38 pm

    What an honor. Thank you! I feel the same about your blog. :)

    • #2 by Porkchop on September 20, 2012 - 10:56 pm

      You are so very welcome. I am grateful for your blog!

  2. #3 by you know:) on September 20, 2012 - 4:27 pm

    Sweetie I heart you a lot. So I want to say this, don’t wait until the kids are grown to travel. Do it now and do it often, it will open them up to new things and instill in them the love of travel. I know it seems daunting, but many people have done it and survived.

    • #4 by Porkchop on September 20, 2012 - 5:54 pm

      LOL, I didn’t mean to imply that we will never be taking the kids anywhere! I think in a few years we’ll all be ready to take on some travels, for sure. :)

  3. #5 by boomiebol on September 20, 2012 - 7:06 pm

    Congratulations :). Thanks so much for the nonmination

    • #6 by Porkchop on September 20, 2012 - 10:57 pm

      You’re so welcome. You make me wanna write more!

  4. #7 by Drunky Drunk Girl on September 20, 2012 - 8:39 pm

    congrats! i can’t wait to read more…

    • #8 by Porkchop on September 20, 2012 - 10:57 pm

      Hey thanks DDG! Nice to see you over here. :)

  5. #9 by Madame Weebles on September 20, 2012 - 10:56 pm

    Congrats on your awards, and excellent choices! Also, I’m extremely jealous that you’ve met Bruce Campbell so many times. He’s not on my list (I know which list you mean), but I still think he’s all kinds of excellent.

    • #10 by Porkchop on September 20, 2012 - 10:59 pm

      He’s the best. Witty and handsome! Thanks Madame Weebles. I appreciate you coming by my blog so very much. I also appreciate that you know which naughty list I am referring to.

  6. #11 by dorothyrecovers on September 21, 2012 - 7:07 am

    Thanks so much for the nomination! It’s good to know I’m not just writing to myself in the faceless cyber world.

  7. #12 by runningonsober on September 21, 2012 - 8:45 pm

    Oh you are more awesome than I could ever begin to describe. The fact you were a DJ and that you get all butterfly-feely and happy when you hear a new song and have that same time stands still thing that happens to me when I hear something new that moves me is incredible…

    I couldn’t be happier for you and your award, and I couldn’t be more appreciative for your nominating me. That’s way cool, and I am very thankful.

    I’ll be posting something this week. Until then, my thanks and congratulations! ~ Christy

  8. #13 by Sword-chinned bitch on September 28, 2012 - 6:39 pm

    Congratulations PC! And thank for my nomination. I’ll keep my award close to my heart!

  9. #14 by runningonsober on October 13, 2012 - 12:38 am

    You’ve been quiet girlie, but I’ve seen your lovely gravatar around (which is good!). Hope all is going well for you, just wanted to drop by and say hi. xx

    • #15 by Porkchop on October 13, 2012 - 11:34 am

      I know I’ve been quiet. I have a few blogs I’ve been putting off writing. I was working on some smut that I submitted to a magazine. But I’ll be back posting soon. I’ve still been reading my favorite blogs, just too lazy to comment most of the time. I saw your comment on Le Clown about me having over 100 days. It was four months on the fourth! Thanks for the kudos. :)

      • #16 by runningonsober on October 13, 2012 - 11:39 am

        :) good to hear! I’ve been busy and blah at the same time lately, so I feel ya. Until then…. Feel free to reach out if you ever need. xx

  1. Gratitude for the Nomination « Dorothy Recovers
  2. Rambling On… (13 miles, Pizza, Moving On and Porkchop Gratitude. And Bacon.) | Running On Sober
  3. It’s Like a Win-Win For Everyone (Thank You *All* For Inspiring Me) | Running On Sober

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

