Music Geekery: Dusted and Perfume Genius and a Perfect Venue

Last night I went to a show at a venue I’d never been to before. Dusted opened for Perfume Genius at the Swedish American Hall in San Francisco. I’ve been to a lot good shows this year but I think this might have been my favorite thus far. Sometimes going to shows sober can be a real drag. Maybe that sounds lame but it’s true. I went to see Grizzly Bear a couple of weeks ago and honestly, the amount of pot smoking and alcohol consumption was overwhelming to me. I was close to the stage, in a sea of what seemed like all twenty-two year olds. Twice I thought I was definitely going to get vomited on. I found myself longing to be up in the balcony, sitting in a seat, not being distracted by the chaos and debauchery around me. I didn’t even stay for the encore.

Seeing Dusted and Perfume Genius was essentially the opposite of the Grizzly Bear show. The venue is a tiny hall with folding chairs set up in front of a modestly sized stage. They have candy, corn nuts, and non-alcoholic beverages at the concession table. I got a great seat and settled in with my sparkling water. Dusted was incredible. I have been listening to both their album Total Dust, and the newest Perfume Genius, Put Your Back N 2 It for the last few months. I guess you could say I have been a bit moody. I frequently find myself craving some emotional, somewhat ethereal, and often heartbreaking music. These two albums fit the bill. It was exciting to see both bands play in such an intimate setting without any distractions.

I’m not really capable of writing about music in a compelling or interesting way, unlike other great bloggers, such as D. Lee. He knows how to articulate why he loves a certain song in a way that is fun to read but also super nerdy and intelligent. I can’t do that. I can tell you that these albums speak to a specific part of me. The part of me that likes the rain, dark moods, and a good cry. Yeah, I’m kind of emo like that.

After I got home from the show I read some interviews with Mike Hadreas, the man behind Perfume Genius. I discovered that he is sober and in recovery and now I love him even more than I already did. He was a delight to watch perform and his interaction with the audience was adorable. I’m posting the song “Hood” because it continues to be my favorite song on the album. I have listened to it on repeat on more than one occasion. It’s barely two minutes long, but it packs so much emotion into that short amount of time. The lyrics kill me.

You would never call me baby
If you knew me truly
Oh, but I waited so long for your love
I am scared baby that I can’t keep it up for long

Oh, I wish I grew up the second I first held you in my arms
Underneath this hood you kiss, I tick like a bomb

You would never call me baby
If you knew me truly
Oh, but I waited so long for your love
I will fight baby not to do wrong

Truth be told, I feel like this much of the time. Most days I think it’s a miracle that my husband loves me. Or that anyone in my life does for that matter. I know, I’m fucked up. I have problems. But I don’t think I’ll ever lose this part of me that feels like I’m beyond repair, like I am barely hanging on, trying to do the right thing when the wrong thing feels so much easier. Sigh. This post has really gone down a different road than I meant it too. Must be the weather.

Dusted is made up of Brian Borcherdt from Holy Fuck and Leon Taheny. Brian was at the merchandise table after the show and I bought an actual CD from him (something I don’t buy enough of anymore) and told him their set was amazing. I’m a dork and could not think of anything more constructive or interesting to say to him. “Bruises” is one of my favorite tracks.

I look forward to going to more shows at this venue. I also have a new dream that I will open up my own venue someday that is a tiny room with lots of chairs, a small stage and tea and scones for sale. Everyone will sit down, be polite and quiet while the bands play, and not one person will vomit on anyone else.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Sword-chinned bitch on October 25, 2012 - 12:23 pm

    Thanks for introducing me to this music. I’m stuck on stupid with the music I listen to. I enjoy concerts, etc. better sober — begrudgingly, I must say it’s better to be present. It’s nice you get out and have fun like this.

    • #2 by Porkchop on October 25, 2012 - 6:31 pm

      I’m a music fiend, so I’m constantly looking for new stuff. Happy to introduce you to something you haven’t heard! And yes, I do enjoy being present at concerts, it’s definitely better.

  2. #3 by Brian Westbye on October 25, 2012 - 5:39 pm

    diiiiiiiig

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

