First writing exercise

I am from my nana’s
eating scrambled eggs with ketchup
novellas on the TV
shoes slipping on vinyl runners
I am from my grandma’s house
red carpets, white couches
a rooftop I could climb to
and watch over the neighborhood
I am from a little duplex
with a stepdad and loud voices
so many ashtrays
and an overworked television
Saturday mornings in my bedroom
so much solitude
playing Sorry! with stuffed animals
listening to cassettes on a tiny boombox
Nights spent clock watching
until I finally gave up on sleep
staring at late night reruns of black and white sitcoms
wondering what I could do to make my life more like Patty Duke’s

, ,

  1. #1 by kvennarad on April 27, 2012 - 10:03 pm

    My breakfast-time reading today, something different. Thank you.

    M
    __________
    Marie Marshall
    author/poet/editor
    Scotland
    http://mairibheag.com
    http://kvennarad.wordpress.com

  2. #2 by Porkchop on April 27, 2012 - 10:38 pm

    Thanks so much for reading and commenting. I really appreciate it. Looking forward to reading some of your work.

  3. #3 by boobjuice on April 28, 2012 - 10:39 pm

    Love this. And I’m sooo glad you’re not more like Patty Duke. 🙂

  4. #4 by Rachel on April 29, 2012 - 8:45 pm

    This is fantastic. It made me cry 🙂

Leave a Reply

